The original Powerpuff Girls animated series was created by Craig McCracken in 1998. In that series, Professor Utonium accidentally created the elementary school-aged super team of three girls, Blossom, Bubbles, and Buttercup, by combining sugar, spice, and everything nice with the mysterious Chemical X. 

The show ran for six seasons, totaling 78 episodes between 1998 and 2005. The series ended up getting its own full-length feature film, The Powerpuff Girls Movie in 2002, while a rebooted animated series began airing on Cartoon Network in 2016.

Source link